2018 Meetinghouse Readings Schedule

Canaan Meetinghouse Reading Series: Summer 2018

Moderator: Phil Pochoda                                    

July 12:  Peter Manseau  — The Apparitionists: A Tale of Phantoms, Fraud, Photography and the Man Who Captured Lincoln’s Ghost. Chosen by Publisher’s Weekly as One of the Ten Best Books of 2017.

Ivy Pochoda  — Wonder Valley (fiction); Chosen as one of the best books of 2017 by NPR and LA Times, and book of the month by Oprah Winfrey and EW.

July 19:  Christopher Wren — Those Turbulent Sons of Freedom: Ethan Allen’s Green Mountain Boys and the American Revolution. Wren was New York Times Bureau Chief in Moscow, Peking, Johannesburg, Cairo and Ottawa.

 Lauren Groff  — Florida  (short stories); her previous novel, Fates and Furies, was a finalist for the National Book Award in fiction, the National Book Circle Award, and the Kirkus Award. Was Amazon.com #1 book of 2015.

July 26:  Howard Mansfield — Summer Over Autumn: A Small Book of Small-Town Life. Mansfield is the author of eight previous popular books about local history, architecture, and preservation, including In the Memory House and The Same Ax Twice.

Robin MacArthur  — Heart Spring Mountain (fiction). Macarthur’s previous book of short stories, Half Wild, was a finalist for the 2016 New England Book Award, and chosen by Barnes & Noble as a “Discover Great Writers” book.

August 2:  Lloyd Schwartz  — Little Kisses (poems); Author of three previous books of poetry, Schwartz is the classical music commentator for NPR’s Fresh Air and the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Criticism.

Joan Silber — Improvement (fiction); Winner of the 2017 National Book Circle Critics Award in Fiction, and Winner of the 2018 PEN/Faulkner Award.  She is the author of six previous highly acclaimed books of fiction.


All readings start at 7:30 at the Meetinghouse, Canaan Street, Canaan, NH.

The Norwich Bookstore will sell current and past books by each author at the Meetinghouse. (Many of the books can be purchased at the bookstore in advance, and can be signed by the authors in July or August)